Pre-Moving Tips Part #1

I’m moving in a month and I’ve been running around like a crazy person trying to get things done. I’m trying my best to simply my life and downsize but it’s much easier said then done. I’ve compiled some tips that I’ve found helpful and I hope you will too! Do you have any moving tips you can share?

It’s been said many times, many ways- CLEAN OUT YOUR CLOSET! This has been really hard for me. I’ve been having a lot of anxiety of what to get rid of and what to keep. I do have some tips for you to make this process a little bit easier.

  1. Organize. I’m moving the first week of October so this was a little challenging for me. I couldn’t necessarily pack just winter things, I’ll need fall as well some early fall things like sandals and lightweight items. I started with extremes: very summery and very wintery. Then I went through the winter items. I made sure I had matches to things like gloves and I threw out anything that wasn’t in great shape. Things that I didn’t wear much last season or that don’t fit but were in good condition got put in Pile #1 and things that I still very much like and still fit were put in Pile #2. I repeated this step for very summery items also.
  2. Make some cash-ola if you can-ola. I’ve been obsessively putting things up for sale on ebay. It takes time and effort but it’s really worth it. I sold a ton of things from Pile #1 and what I didn’t sell I either took to a consignment shop or donated. We have Vietnam Vets actually come to our house to pick up our items to donate. It’s so helpful!
  3. The key to a girl’s heart is through her sole. I have way too many shoes. In fact I will post a picture so you can see just how many. Shoes take up a lot of room when you are packing. I forced myself to get rid of a few pairs that I haven’t worn in a while. Tears were shed.
  4. Project Repat. I purchased a groupon for Project Repat which is a company that takes your old t-shirts and upcycles them into things like blankets. I sent in 9 of my old t-shirts and cannot wait to see the finished product! Check out their website: http://www.projectrepat.org/

Random Little Tidbits:

  1. Change is good. If you have a bunch of spare change lying around, get it to your bank! Do not take it to a machine that will charge you a percentage. Again, this is one of those things that takes some time and effort, but pop on Netflix and roll your pennies!
  2. Reading is Power. I love to read. But I know that moving books is going to be a hassle so I decided to get rid of what I can. Half Price Books is a great option. You don’t get a ton of money for your books but it’s a win-win because you’re downsizing and cashing in a bit.

 

This is just the beginning. Many, many more tips coming your way soon! And just so you know, these tips are not just helpful for moving, but also for seasons changing and spring cleaning time!

About fitandfash

Fitness and Fashion.. What could be better? I'm a 22 year lover of all things fashion and some things fitness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment